Bench & Bar of Minnesota is the official publication of the Minnesota State Bar Association.

ABA House of Delegates passes immigration resolution sponsored by MSBA

ABA Resolution 10C urges immigration reform addressing children separated from their parents at the United States border

The House of Delegates of the American Bar Association (ABA) today adopted Resolution 10C (text) calling on Congress and the executive branch to immediately cease separating children and their parents at the border.  The resolution, which was initiated and sponsored by the Minnesota State Bar Association (MSBA), also calls for action to reunite separated children with their parents safely and expeditiously.

The resolution carries out the mandate of the MSBA Assembly action (text), taken on June 22, 2018, calling for action by the ABA to respond to the problem.

Specifically, Resolution 10C urges executive branch and congressional action to immediately cease and not reinstate federal immigration policies and practices of separating minor children from their parents; to ensure that any separation of a child and a parent shall occur only upon a determination of child endangerment, applying well defined criteria with due process protections for parent and child; and to require that children who have already been separated from their parents be reunited with them while ensuring that parents’ and children’s individual and independent legal claims are protected.

The MSBA’s Resolution 10C is co-sponsored by the ABA Criminal Justice Section, the ABA Section of International Law, the ABA Center for Human Rights, the ABA Commission on Immigration, the ABA Section of Civil Rights and Social Justice, the Connecticut Bar Association, and the Massachusetts Bar Association.  The following entities also support Resolution 10C: Hispanic National Bar Association, Commission on Hispanic Legal Rights and Responsibilities, and Commission on Youth at Risk.

The Minnesota delegation attending the ABA’s annual House of Delegates meeting in Chicago, Illinois consists of Trudy Halla, Michael Miller, Judge Cara Lee Neville, Frederick Finch, Susan Holden, Judge Peter Reyes, Patrick Kelly, Joan Howland, Robert Stein, Judge Juan Hoyos, Greg Brooker, Eric Larson, Samuel Edmunds, and Christopher Siebenaler.

Comments are closed on this post.

Articles by Issue

Articles by Subject